Rosegate Series
The Rosegate Series is a composite of the previously defined Rose Spring and Eastgate point types (Thomas 1981:19). The Rose Spring type was defined by Lanning (1963:252) and the Eastgate type defined by Heizer and Baumhoff (1961). Rose Spring was defined as having three variants: side-notched, corner-notched and contracting stem. The Eastgate series was held to have two variants: expanding stem and split-stem. Hester and Heizer (1973:32) suggested that the Rose Spring and Eastgate forms were a single series with subtle morphological differences. Thomas combined these point types into a series because of morphological similarity and lack of demonstrable area of separation.

Rosegate series points are small corner-notched triangular forms with expanding stems.

Rose Spring Corner-notched points have squared shoulders and narrow, slightly contracting stems.

Eastgate Expanding Stem points have barbed shoulders extending down to the straight basal margin of markedly expanding stems.

Eastgate Split-stem points have barbed shoulders and expanding stems with markedly concave or notched basal margins.

Type Sites: Iny-372 (Lanning 1963) and Wagon Jack Shelter (Heizer and Baumboff 1961).

Temporal Distribution: c. 1200-600 B. P.; Late Archaic.